Fancy Pants

Chronicles of a simple girl in a sparkling world

Homeowner Fail #1: White doesn’t have shades!

Leave a comment

So, everything with the house has gone great so far. Yesterday, not so much. 

The one big project I need to finish before my parents come on Friday is painting my closet. I really lucked out because the previous owners left the extra paint meaning i wouldn’t need to purchase any for the laundry room, pantry or closet. So, I thought. I told myself I HAD to finish this project yesterday, because I need to seal my shelves before moving things in, which I was hoping to be on Thursday while I was waiting for my washer and dryer to be delivered. 

While the other two rooms turned out great, or at least I think so, my closet was a disaster. First, it was late when I started. The pantry went so smoothly so I had complete confidence in myself. I get the ______ white paint out of the garage and put the first coat on. I noticed it seemed a bit “not white” but couldn’t pin point it, thinking if it says white it has to be white. WRONG. It is LIGHT GREEN. So I gave it a chance to dry. IT DRYS DARKER. I spent way too much time debating on if it was too dark or not, all while still painting the trim of all things. Not the most brilliant idea I had, I know. Now, I get to go back and repaint it white. 

Here’s a story for paint color name decision makers – WHITE DOESN’T HAVE SHADES. COLORS HAVE SHADES. WHITE AND BLACK DO NOT HAVE SHADES. DO NOT NAME A PAINT SOMETHING WITH WHITE IF IT ISN’T WHITE. LIGHT GREEN IS NOT A SHADE OF WHITE, IT IS A SHADE OF GREEN. 

Rant over. I’ll get over it one day, but not today. Or tomorrow. Or until all of my clothes and shoes are hiding the stupid white walls that are currently green. 

IMG_5718

Yes, this pic is via snapchat. I have a ghetto phone camera.

xoxo,

jenn – who has now completed her first homeowner fail. 😦

Leave a Reply

