Fancy Pants

Chronicles of a simple girl in a sparkling world

July 2, we meet again.

Leave a comment

I know I’ve been MIA here lately, but I have been so busy travelling for work and just generally busy. Now, I’m going to start back with a (somewhat) sad blog post.

July 2, 2012. I said goodbye to my sweet Lexi completely unexpectedly. I kissed her for the last time. I cuddled with her for the last time that morning. I saw THAT tongue hanging out for the last time.

It’s hard to believe it’s already been 2 years since that horrible day. I still hate today. I hate the days leading up to today. I get so anxious about how I’ll feel. I can still play it out in my mind like it was yesterday.

Today was a little different than last year. I woke up with a sense of contentment. Tears came, but still feel content. Knowing she left at the high of her life. There was no declining health, no decisions to be made. Her personality still shines through the pictures I have of us. I still think of her every time I see a butterfly. It’s crazy because my niece, Penny, has started chasing butterfly shadows, just like Lexi did.

She is the dog who is responsible for me being the crazy dog lady, my love of flat noses and everything that comes with it. The snoring. The snorting. She makes me so grateful that she wasn’t a morning person and made that a requirement for my next dog. (Pugsleigh is an absolute wild child in the mornings and Levi wants to eat too early.) She taught me the unconditional love of dogs.

I could go on and on about my princess, but I won’t. I’m just grateful for the 7 years, 6 months, and 12 days I had with her.

Hug your 4-legged babies tight today and everyday.

RIP baby girl. Mom loves and misses you. Hope you are having the best day. Lots of c-o-o-k-i-e-s. And toast.

xoxo,
jenn

World’s worst morning person

Sitting at her favorite place – also happened to be the least stable.

Still drugged post surgery. haha. Totally looks high.

Last picture I have of her. In my truck. Always trying to help. 

Me and my princess. What a fatty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

