Fancy Pants

Chronicles of a simple girl in a sparkling world

Happy birthday, sweet babies!!!

Leave a comment

So, one of my greatest loves are dogs. And most of you have probably figured this out by now. It’s safe to call me the crazy dog lady and I take NO offense to it!

Well, birthdays are a BIG deal in our family, including doggie birthdays! My first pug’s, Lexi, birthday was December 20 and I made sure that we celebrated her birthday and Christmas separately! 🙂 Levi has an adoptiversary since I don’t know when his real birthday is. And usually I’m too scatter brained to remember the day I picked for him so I just randomly celebrate it. Sometimes September 1. Sometimes Thanksgiving (the first time he came home with me). Dooney Bourke (my nephew, who has since decided Paw Paw is his favorite) was born April 12, Pugsleigh is September 28, and Penny is April 5.

We celebrated Penny’s first birthday on Friday since we were going to a wedding on Saturday in San Angelo. And, of course, everyone needs a birthday cake on their birthday! The cake was a joint birthday celebration for Penny and Dooney since they really don’t need to be eating cake every week. I have made homemade treats and doggie popsicles before, but hadn’t ever made a cake. I turned to my trusty friend, Pinterest. After searching a few sites of the pins I had, I found that the cake was pretty much the same on all of them. Nearly identical. It was just the icing that changed.

The recipe for the doggie birthday cake is:
(Cake adapted from here)

1 egg
1/4 cup of peanut butter
1/4 cup of vegetable oil
1 teaspoon of vanilla
1/3 cup of honey
1 cup of shredded carrots (I bought shredded carrots and then chopped them into smaller pieces)
1 cup of white flour (can use whole wheat flour)
1 teaspoon baking soda

Icing (to taste..oh lord, I am becoming my mother…):
1 package of low fat cream cheese
peanut butter
honey

You will also need beggin’ strips and milk bones.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix the wet ingredients. Stir in carrots. Stir in flour and baking soda. It will make a pretty thick batter and not look like a whole lot.

Spray Pam on a brownie size pan. Pour batter in and spread to get as evenly as possible. It won’t be smooth. Bake for 25 minutes or until cooked through.

You can also make cupcakes if you want.

While the cake was baking, I experimented with icing. I saw a couple of icings and decided to make my own. I thought why not try to make a peanut butter cream cheese icing?! So I did. And it takes way more than you think to make cream cheese taste peanut buttery. I also added honey to make it a little sweeter. I can’t give you any measurements except the package of cream cheese. I started with a generous spoonful of peanut butter and had to add more. And it takes quite a bit of honey. This was enough to icing the whole cake completely and have some leftovers.

To decorate I saw a picture of a cupcake that used beggin’ strips and milk bones along with extra carrots. So, that’s what I did. And, if I would have been really creative, I would have made my own milk bones.

I did let the cake cool completely, which I am usually terrible at, before I frosted it. There are some other versions out there, but this one seemed to be a hit!

I hope your babies enjoy as much as mine did. While it seems like it won’t be very much, it is plenty! Penny even took some to her other cousins!

I wish I could have made it into a dog bone shape and written on it but the icing is SUPER thick.

Princess Penny’s, aka teetee monster, birthday collage! I don’t have any of
dooney because he’s a boy and doesn’t like getting his picture taken 🙂

Happy birthday, Princess Penny and Dooney Bourke! Auntie Jenn loves you very much! 🙂

xoxo,
jenn

Leave a Reply

