Fancy Pants

Chronicles of a simple girl in a sparkling world

Giving Back with a Grateful Heart

Leave a comment

These days, I’ve been spending nearly equal time between Houston and Austin. I am becoming a road warrior and not liking it. Marilyn doesn’t know what it’s like to stay in Austin for the weekend. Anyways, timing worked out and tomorrow we’re going to see REBA at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo! I am SO excited! She better sing “Fancy” and “Is there life out there?”!

But more than that, even though we all complain about the $8 beer, I’m excited to support an organization that supports SO many kids – whether through experiences or their financial contributions – in the Houston Metro Area. Now, don’t get me wrong, I know there are countless sponsors who fund these opportunities and hope they get the recognition they deserve, too. 
My senior year of high school, I was fortunate enough to receive a Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo FFA Scholarship, sponsored by The Robert and Janice McNair Foundation. I began to volunteer on the Junior Rodeo Committee when I was 16. Once I turned 21, I joined the Livestock Committee and the Barrow Subcommittee. This is the first year that I will not be volunteering because I just couldn’t make the time commitment and am bummed that I will only be giving back through the food and drink we’ll be buying. 
They are a part of the reason I graduated college debt free. As many of you know, this is a HUGE deal. Also know, they were NOT the only organization I received a scholarship from.
I hoped to be able to join a committee at the Star of Texas Fair and Rodeo (Austin), but it ended up not working out. I’m ready to be able to start giving back to great organizations, even if I didn’t receive anything from them.
Don’t forget to give back when you can – somebody, somewhere will be appreciative. It doesn’t have to be money, but maybe your time. Support local organizations. And always remember volunteering isn’t always boring!
xoxo,
jenn
Leave a Reply

