Fancy Pants

Chronicles of a simple girl in a sparkling world

Halfway there….

Leave a comment

So yes, I do realize that it has been almost a month since I have written on here, and I apologize to those of you who use this for entertainment :). I have been so busy these past few weeks and also haven’t had too much to write about, but now I do! 🙂

Monday marks the 70th day of the 82nd Legislative session which is exactly halfway through the session. We have reached the bill filing deadline (March 11) and are now starting to actually work and hear bills. I can’t imagine how much my life is about to change as we start working and getting into serious debates on the floor! But I am VERY excited!! Geez, I can’t believe I’m already halfway through my internship. Kinda makes me sad!

One reason I haven’t been writing is because I have been driving home the past 3 weekends. And, boy, does that get expensive!! I was going home because I am on the Jr. Rodeo Committee at the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo; but now I’m done with that and can be on a big kid committee! This year, that show brought nothing but bad luck for me! I lost TWO, yes TWO, debit cards there! I seriously do not know how people survived life without debit cards, but from what I’ve learned, they probably had their finances under much more control! Let’s just say that I’m TERRIBLE at saving money, and this experience has been good for me. I’m going to try to do better with saving money but we’ll see how that goes. 🙂

So, I’m not sure about all of you, but I am REAAAAAALLLLLLYYYYYY enjoying the new time change! It makes me seem like I actually have a life. I can now leave work at 7, which is about usual for us, and be home and it still be daylight! Soooo exciting. Maybe now I’ll actually start exercising at night 🙂 and now that the weather is warm, I’m ready to have a day to lay out, not that I should be seen in a bathing suit right now, but still I’m ready to enjoy the weather. And today would have been the perfect day if I hadn’t spent it on the couch sleeping 🙂 Yeah I had a complete lazy day and don’t regret it at all! Not to mention, I’m writing this as I sit in my pajamas at 7:30 p.m. 🙂 

So, as many of you know, I’m getting to do some awesome, awesome, awesome, things with my internship! One of the things that are so neat are all of the events and receptions held at night for Legislators and their staff. My favorite one so far was the Texas Songwriter Showcase. We listened to three songwriters sing songs they had written that were made famous by others. One man wrote songs for GEORGE STRAITTTTTT!!!! The first song we heard was “I Can Still Make Cheyenne” and, oh my, I was in love. I REALLY wish I could remember his name, but I can’t right now. The other man was Richie McDonald, lead singer of Lonestar. Ok the George Strait guy must be named Aaron Barker because he also wrote the Lonestar song “What About Now?” and that is the name that was given on both of them. Aaron and Richie sang the song together and it was really neat to hear them together! So Aaron Barker also wrote the BLUE BELL theme song! I heard it LIVE!! It was so so so neat! The final songwriter was a lady who wrote songs for George, Martina McBride and Willie Nelson. She wrote the song “When God Fearin’ Women Get the Blues” for Martina and I wish y’all could hear the story she had behind that song! It was so awesome to hear all of the stories behind the songs! So great! So that was really neat. I need to upload my videos to facebook but I’m not very good at that.

One thing that only staffers and family of legislators get to do is the dome tour. It takes you ALLLLLLLL the way up to the top of the dome of the Capitol! I have uploaded a lot of pictures with captions to explain. But it’s safe to say that we climbed a lot of stairs and my calves are STILL sore! We got all the way up to directly outside of the Statue of Liberty on the top! So insane! I still can’t believe I did it! You should check out my pictures on my facebook. They are in the “Adventures of an Austin Intern” album!

I haven’t really missed much about College Station, but yesterday I went to College Station and kind of missed it. Life is SO simple there. Not too many cares or things to stress over. I love looking out the window of my truck or house and just seeing grass forever. I can crawl through my window when my sister locks me out and people don’t think I’m a robber. haha and yes, that did happen. Thank you, Jake, for helping me get my window screen out because I put it on backwards. Woops. 🙂 Just to get one thing clear…I do not miss school and studying and homework. I really enjoy that when I come home, I’m done for the day. But I am starting to miss the simplicity of life there.

So, that’s an update on my life. I’m ready for shopping for spring clothes and cute dresses 🙂 and my iPad. Yes, I am buying it with my next paycheck.

I hope you all are doing fabulous.

❤ lovvvveeeeee youuuuu!!!

Leave a Reply

